Coimbatore Lok Sabha Constituency

Coimbatore Lok Sabha Constituency

Coimbatore Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu. It consists of six assembly segments namely, Coimbatore North, Coimbatore south, Kaudampalayam, Singanallur, Sulur, and Palladam. Before the delimitation in the year 2009, the Coimbatore Lok Sabha constituency had consisted of the following constituencies  Singanallur, Coimbatore West, Coimbatore East, Palladam, Perur, and Tiruppur. Coimbatore, also referred to as Kovai is the second largest city in the state of Tamil Nadu.

Coimbatore is the major textile hub of India. It is also popular for its world-renowned hospitals and educational institutions. Since 1952, Coimbatore had elected 18 Members to the Lok Sabha. Out of the 18 members, N.M Lingam of Indian National Congress (INC) was elected to the Lok Sabha in the bye-election in the year 1952 due to the death of T.A Ramalingam Chettiar and Smt Parvathi Krishnan won the bye-election in the year 1974.

According to the 2014 electoral data, there was 17,20,221 voters in the constituency. The voter turnout in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections was 68.4 %. There was 1663 polling stations in the last General election. Coimbatore is a politically very active center. This constituency has elected candidates mostly from the national parties such as CPI, BJP and the INC rather than regional parties such as the AIADMK and the DMK. There was only two instances where the regional parties won from this seat. P. Nagarajan of AIADMK ensured that the regional party won the Coimbatore Lok Sabha seat for the first time in the 2014 General elections. Before that, M. Ramanathan of DMK had won from this seat in the 1996 General elections. This seat is typically allotted to alliance partners during General elections.


The Communist Party of India CPI and the Communist Party of India (M) was considered a strong force in this seat but its popularity and support base has diminished significantly since the last general elections held in 2014. The Kongu Vellalar Gounders, Telugu Chettiyars, and Naidus are the three dominant castes in this Lok Sabha constituency. It is interesting to see how the alliance groups have shaped up this time. The DMK has given 20 odd seats to its alliance partners. With the Congress, KMDK, MDMK and the CPI-CPI(M) in its fold, the DMK led alliance will try to snatch this prestigious seat from its opponent. The AIADMK has also given 20 odd seats to its alliance partners. If elections are to go by pure statistics and arithmetics then this seat could very well be a cakewalk for the NDA. It’s for the simple reason being that in the 2014 General elections the winning candidate P. Nagarajan had polled 4,31,717 votes with 36.69% and the runner up C.P Radhakrishnan of the BJP polled 3,89,701 votes with 33.12%  (Note that in the last General elections AIADMK and BJP did not contest together). With the 2019 General elections just around the corner, Coimbatore is all set to turn into a political battleground. This election season is said to be a multi-cornered fight among the parties. The major players this time around will be the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) from the AIADMK alliance and the CPI-CPI(M) from the DMK alliance.  But with the split in the AIADMK party and the lose of two most popular Dravidian leaders in the recent past the elections can swing towards any side. Can the NDA make a strong statement in the Coimbatore Lok Sabha constituency or will the UPA make a comeback to this reputed seat. Last but not least will the new players such as the AMMK and MNM play spoilsport? Let’s wait and watch the action.  



Related Posts