Tiruppur Lok Sabha Constituency

Tiruppur Lok Sabha Constituency

The city of Tirupur is located in the Indian state of Tamilnadu. Tirupur is the administrative headquarters of the district. It is situated on the banks of the Noyyal river. The district is a major knitwear and textile hub contributing 90% of the total cotton knitwear exports from India. It’s a contribution to the entire exports was a staggering ₹200 Billion in the financial year 2014-2015. Being a pioneer in the textile industry the district is home to over six lakh people. The unorganised sector contributes a significant amount to employment opportunities in the district. The Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency is one of 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamilnadu. Originally, it was Gobichettipalayam. The Election Commission changed it to Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency after the rearrangement of constituencies in 2008.  There are six assembly segments that fall under this Lok Sabha constituency. They are Perundurai, Bhavani, Anthiyur, Gobichettipalayam, Tirupur North and Tirupur South.

Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency had elected two members to the lower house since 2009 after it was formed. The mandate was given to the AIADMK for the 2009 and 2014 General elections. Prior to the formation of the Tiruppur Lok Sabha constituency, Gobichettipalayam was a major Lok Sabha seat in the Kongu belt. Gobichettipalayam had elected 13 members to the Lok Sabha since 1957 till 2004. This seat was typically an AIADMK fortress. Out of the 13 times, the AIADMK had won 6 times, the DMK 3 times and the Indian National Congress 4 times. The first member of parliament from this particular seat was K.S. Ramasamy of the Indian National Congress and the last member of Parliament from this particular seat was E.V.K.S Elangovan also from the Indian National Congress. K.S Ramasawamy, P.A Saminathan, P.G Narayanan had been elected twice each by the people of the constituency.

The Tirupur Lok Sabha in 2014 had 13,75,589 voters. The male electors were 6,97,730 while the female voters were 6,77,859. The last two General elections elected AIADMK candidates. In 2009, the Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency was one of the most bankable seats for the AIADMK. It’s candidate C.Sivasami managed to get 2,95,731 votes while INC’s Kharventhan S.K secured 2,10,285 votes. Similarly, in the 2014 General Elections, AIADMK candidate V. Sathyabama got 4,42778 votes while N. Dinesh Kumar of the DMDK came a distant second with 2,63,463. The Goundars especially the Kongu Vellalar Goundars, Chettiyars, Naidus form the most prominent castes and vote banks in this constituency. Since it is an industrial area, the power of the labour unions is typically strong. Tirupur is home to thousands of small, medium and large factories and industries. Dying is also a major industry in this district. Being a new district, its infrastructure and other facilities are moderate.

Pollution is a major concern to this industrial town. Pollution is not new to Tirupur. The air and water get polluted due to the presence of a large number of industries. The pollution level in the Noyyal river is a major concern to its citizens. The safety and the regulation of the labour unions is also a concern. Job opportunities are also on the downside due to the closure of many units and factories. In order to get cheap labour, the factory and the industry management source their workers from the northern and northeast states of India. Due to this the local citizens of Tirupur migrate to other cities and states looking for employment opportunities.

The battle for 2019 to the Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency is multi-cornered. With the alliances in place, it will be very interesting to see what the outcome is when the election results are announced. The NDA partners AIADMK and the BJP have a strong presence and vote bank in this seat. Since the 2014 General Elections, the BJP has managed to build considerable support for itself. Also with the recent visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to this Industrial city and the announcement of series of developmental and welfare schemes, the NDA has an upper hand in Tirupur. However, it would be really interesting to see who will be the candidate from the alliance. If the DMDK to join hands with the NDA, then it would become a cakewalk for the alliance to win the Tirupur Lok Sabha constituency. However, elections are always unpredictable. The other side cannot be written off easily. With anti-incumbency to the state government and the breakup’s in the ruling AIADMK party, the UPA too has a chance this time around. Tirupur and the erstwhile Gobichettipalayam had given a mandate to the DMK and the Indian National Congress many times in the previous General Elections. They have been able to hold onto its vote share even during the worst of times. Now with the KMDK, CPI and the CPI(M) in this alliance they are a strong force to reckon in the 2019 General Elections. The new entrants AMMK and the MNM too can play havoc if they can swing their magic wands in the right direction.

Related Posts